Moving Insurance – Is it Worth Purchasing for Long Distance Relocations?

Moving is a complicated, time-consuming process, and often, something goes wrong. This is even truer if your move is taking you out of state or across the country rather than just across town. For many people, a bigger move is easier when you hire a moving company to handle the actual move for you. When you’re trying to hire someone, however, you may feel confused about insurance. Do you need it? Where do you get it? Is it worth it?

1. What does the moving company offer?

The moving company is not required to provide moving insurance. The moving company is required to offer what’s called valuation. This is a basic limited liability that you’ll get automatically when you sign the Bill of Lading. It is free, but it is highly unlikely that it will match the worth of your possessions if they’re damaged, ruined, destroyed or lost during the move. Most moving companies pay valuation at a rate of between $.30 and $.60 per pound per item. This means, for example, your $500 laptop that weighs maybe 5 pounds will only get you, at most, $3.

2. Other insurance options

Moving companies have the option to offer you moving insurance, or to direct you to a third party, such as your insurance agent or a company the moving company recommends, to purchase moving insurance.

The additional insurance offered is usually called Full Value Protection, Full Value Moving Insurance, or Declared Value Protection. You will pay for this out of pocket. With this protection, cheap Charlotte movers say the moving company will pay the full replacement value of every item that is damaged or missing in your shipment. Like most insurance, this usually has a minimum coverage and a deductible, but you can decide those amounts. Valuation is again based on weight.

Some also offer lump sum value which insures your things based on cost instead of weight. You insurance your household for a specific amount.

3. Third party insurance

In rare cases, homeowners insurance will cover a move. Most will cover 10% of the value of your personal property if it’s broken or stolen in transit. You can also ask your insurance agent about “Goods in Transit” insurance to cover the move.

4. Is it worth it?

The ultimate question is whether it’s worth the expense to purchase moving insurance. When moving over a long distance, much could go wrong. Roadway accidents, stolen trucks or trailers, or an improperly packed truck that shifts the contents are all ways your property could be damaged or missing. Unless you can afford to replace even a few of your belongings out of pocket with no problem, it’s likely to be well worth the money you’ll spend to purchase moving insurance.

If nothing else, the purchase will give you peace of mind, knowing that if anything should happen to your things, you won’t be on the hook to replace it all on your own. That peace of mind can be more valuable than anything else.

South Carolina Car Insurance Laws – Get the Required Coverage After Moving

South Carolina is an at-fault state. This means that an at-fault party will be responsible for paying for any damages or injuries that they cause in a car accident. Many people can get compensation from the other party’s insurance company. However, one may be required to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party if they are not properly insured.

If you are moving to South Carolina, you must ensure you have the proper insurance coverage for your car. You have just 45 days to obtain insurance and register your car after moving to the Palmetto state, so make sure you know the requirements and discuss coverage options with a licensed insurance agent.

South Carolina Car Insurance Requirements

Per Upside Insurance, (, you are required to have liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage in South Carolina. Liability coverage includes amounts for both bodily injury and property damage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability – Drivers are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 in coverage for every person injured in the accident. The minimum is $50,000 for everyone injured in the accident.
  • Property Damage Liability – Property damage liability insurance covers damages that are done to property by the at-fault driver. As with bodily injury coverage, $25,000 is the minimum amount of coverage that one is required to have.
  • Uninsured Coverage – Many drivers either do not have insurance or the insurance is not enough to cover the damages. That is why South Carolina requires that all drivers get uninsured motorist coverage. Your undinsured motorist coverage must match the minimum liability coverage.

Collision insurance is designed to cover damage that is done to your vehicle. It is not required in the state of South Carolina, but it is strongly recommended. Collision insurance will cover the cost of repairing your vehicle. In some cases, the cost of repairing the vehicle is more than what the vehicle is worth. If this is the case, then collision insurance may cover all or part of the cost of replacing your vehicle.

You also might want to add comprehensive coverage to your policy. Comprehensive insurance covers all non-collision related incidents. For example, if your car gets hail damage or a deer hits you, comprehensive coverage pays for the repairs.

How Long Do I Have to Register My Car and Update my License?

You must get a South Carolina driver’s license within 90 days of moving to the state. You will need to visit the local DMV and pass the vision test. You may also be required to pass a driving or written test.

You will have 45 days to register your car after you move to South Carolina. Keep in mind that if you do not register within 45 days, then you will have to pay a higher fee. You can register your car at the DMV or mail in the forms that you need. You will need to provide a property tax receipt, proof of insurance, vehicle title and your registration fee payment. Your registration will be good for two years.

Before you register your vehicle, you will have to pay a fee to the county auditor. This is the vehicle property tax. Make sure that you keep a copy of your receipt. Additionally, you will need to pay an infrastructure maintenance fee, which is $250. This is a one-time fee.